Home / Features / Sharon Horgan gets two Bafta nominations

Sharon Horgan gets two Bafta nominations

The TV Baftas will take place on Sunday 13 May with Sue Perkins hosting the event.

In 2014 it was Channel 4 sitcom ‘Catastrophe’ that sent Sharon Horgan‘s writing and performing career into A-list territory.

The show has been a major success for Horgan and the show’s co-writer  / lead male actor, American comedian Rob Delaney, and is based loosely on her own experiences. It centres on a fledgeling couple who try to make it work after Sharon’s character, Sharon, gets pregnant as a result of a short fling- oh, and Princes Leia plays Rob’s mother! It’s brilliant and if you haven’t seen it, you really should.

Now, she has picked up two nominations for Catastrophe. She was nominated for best female performance in a comedy programme and the show, which she co-created and co-stars in with Rob Delaney, got the nod for best-scripted comedy.

Clondalkin / Dublin born presenter and comedian Graham Norton (fyi 2nd home in Cork) is nominated for Best Entertainment Performance for his self titled BBC One comedy entertainment chat show.

Mockumentary This Country received several nominations in the comedy categories with lead actors and siblings, Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper, both recognised for acting and writing. It has recently returned for a second season.

Comedy saw Asim Chaundry from People Just Do Nothing and Samson Kayo from sketch show Famalam were both recognised in best male performance while Chewing Gum and Timewasters, shows with majority black casts, were nominated in best comedy. The lead drama categories were less diverse, with Thandie Newton being the only person of colour recognised.

See the full list of the comedy nominations below:

Scripted Comedy

  • Catastrophe
  • Chewing Gum
  • This Country
  • Timewasters

Comedy Entertainment Programme

  • Murder In Successville
  • Taskmaster
  • The Last Leg
  • Would I Lie To You?

Male Performance In A Comedy Programme

  • Asim Chaudhry for People Just Do Nothing
  • Rob Brydon for The Trip To Spain
  • Samson Kayo for Famalam
  • Toby Jones for Detectorists

Female Performance In A Comedy Programme

  • Anna Maxwell Martin for Motherland
  • Daisy May Cooper for This Country
  • Sharon Horgan for Catastrophe
  • Sian Gibson for Peter Kay’s Car Share

Entertainment Performance

  • Adam Hills for The Last Leg
  • Graham Norton for The Graham Norton Show
  • Michael McIntyre for Michael McIntyre’s Big Show
  • Sandi Toksvig for QI

Short Form Programme

This new category sees two comedies nominated alongside factual shows Britain’s Forgotten and Eating with My Ex.

  • Morgana Robinson’s Summer
  • Pls Like



Check Also

Irish women writing TV’s best comedies

From Channel 4’s Derry Girls & Catastrophe to RTE’s Nowhere Fast, female-led Irish comedies are …