Home / Features / Julia Louis-Dreyfus Honoured With Mark Twain Comedy Prize

Julia Louis-Dreyfus Honoured With Mark Twain Comedy Prize

“The fact that I’ve had the opportunity to make people laugh for a living is one of the many blessings that I have received in my life”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus was honoured with the Mark Twain prize for lifetime achievement in comedy.

The Prize, which is named to honor one of the world’s greatest humorists, was presented at a gala performance featuring some of the biggest names in comedy.

Between all shows combined, she has received eleven Emmy awards (six consecutively for “Veep”) with twenty-four nominations, a Golden Globe award, nine Screen Actors Guild awards which makes her the most decorated actor in the history of the SAG awards, three Television Critics Association awards, five American Comedy Awards, a Peabody Award, and the Charlie Chaplin Britannia Award for Excellence in Comedy. She has broken the record for the most Emmy’s won by a single performer, as well as the most consecutive wins for a single role (“Veep”).

Louis-Dreyfus is the 21st Mark Twain recipient, joining a list that includes Richard Pryor, George Carlin and Carol Burnett.

You can watch the whole ceremony below:



David Letterman Awarded The 2017 Mark Twain Prize for American Humour




Check Also

A Tribute To David Letterman

On October 22nd Mark Twain was awarded the Mark Twain prize for American humour.  This …