Home / Features / Irish Comedian of the Year Announced

Irish Comedian of the Year Announced

Congrats to Galway based Steve Bennett – the winner of this year’s “Irish Comedian Of The Year” competition.

In second and third place were Ryan Cullen and Jim Elliot. The judges were Alan Anderson (founder of the English, Scottish and Irish comedian of the year competitions), Sharon Burgess (Assembly Festival, Edinburgh), Julia Chamberlain (So You Think You’re Funny & Chortle) and Matt Smyth (Artistic Director Cat Laughs Festival).

TONIGHT – Irish Comedian of the Year Final in Galway!

Over 100 comedians competed in heats & semi finals for a chance to win but it was Steve who took home €2000 and a fully paid, working tour of Australia’s finest comedy festivals as well as bragging rights for the rest of his life.

The Grand Final took place in a packed Town Hall Theatre last night as part of the Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway. Here’s a musical Steve in action …





Check Also

The Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway Has Kicked Off!

It’s day one of Ireland’s biggest comedy festival and we are more than a little …