Home / Events / Line Up For Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway Announced

Line Up For Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway Announced

Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway Live in Galway City from Oct 23rd to 29th – Tickets on sale Tuesday, August 28th at 10 am!


Tuesday October 23rd to Monday 29th of October, 2018

On sale Tuesday Aug 28th at 10am!

  Vodafone Comedy Carnival, 7 days of world-class comedy in Galway City, Ireland.

Dylan Moran, Sean Lock, Reginald D Hunter, Jason Byrne, Rich Hall, Milton Jones, Gina Yashere, Joel Dommett, Rhys Darby, Enya Martin, Al Murray and Dermot & Dave are just some of the stand-up superstars heading to Galway for this year’s Vodafone Comedy Carnival. The 2018 programme for Ireland’s largest festival of laughter has just been announced and it is simply outstanding.

With 75 shows and over 100 quality acts performing across 18 venues, Galway audiences are set for 7 deadly days and fun-filled nights of side-splitting comedy over the extended October bank holiday weekend.

The 2018 Vodafone Comedy Carnival runs as part of Vodafone’s Centre Stage programme, and once again sees the return of the iconic Spiegeltent to Eyre Square. With 2020 rapidly approaching, organisers have pulled out all the stops to bring some of the funniest acts on the planet to Ireland’s cultural capital on the Wild Atlantic Way (Hey Hey!!).

CEO Simon Heaslip said “The Comedy Carnival really adds to the buzz of the city and my hope is that anyone making their first trip to Galway, be they customers or performers get to experience some of the magic that residents and regular visitors feel so intensely. We would especially like to thank Galway City Council for allowing us to locate our Comedy Village in Eyre Square. I’d also like to express my gratitude to our main sponsors, Vodafone, whose outstanding commitment to live comedy is remarkable and allows us to put on such an amazing festival.”


This year’s festival is headlined by one of the finest comedians of his generation, Dylan Moran. This will be the only opportunity for Irish audiences to catch him live on home turf this year. Another Irish exclusive is 8 out of 10 Cats team captain, Sean Lock, who’ll be performing three nights at the Black Box. I you fancy being immortalised on film, Rhys Darby, better known as Murray from Flight Of The Conchords, has chosen Galway’s Town Hall Theatre to record his Mystic Time Bird special. Joel Dommett of I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here fame, will be making his debut Galway appearance. Gina Yashere, British Correspondent from Trevor Noah’s Daily Show, is paying us a long overdue visit, and we welcome back the world’s greatest one-liner practitioner,Milton Jones.


If you like a musical twist to your comedy, check out Rich Hall’s Hoedown, the inimitable Cuban Brothers or the amazing OMG It’s The Church who will shake your body and blow your mind. There will also be dashes of top-notch silliness from the likes of Jason Byrne, Terry Alderton, Phil Nichol and Paul Currie, and some unserious messing from Irish comedy veteran Barry Murphy and Today FM’s Dermot & Dave. The UK’s favourite pub philosopher turned pop-up publican, AL Murray brings his unique comedy genius to Galway, serving up his satirical brew of no-nonsense banter.

Other highlights include internet sensation Enya Martin’s Giz A Laugh, The Fast Show’s Simon Day getting In Character and world-class stand-up from the likes of Andrew Maxwell, Reginald D Hunter, Zoe Lyons, Glenn Wool, Tanya Lee Davis, Angela Barnes and Kerry Godliman.

Lost Voice Guy is making his Irish debut only months after winning this year’s Britain’s Got Talent, and of course the Swiss Army knife of the festival, Phill Jupitus, is relishing in his return to stand up, but we will also have him reciting poetry as his alter ego Porky The Poet, DeeJaying, Improvising with Steve Frost’s troupe, presenting festival radio and hopefully cooking the breakfast.

And The Winner of BGT 2018 Is…..Lost Voice Guy!


Now there’s a festival line-up worthy of a future European Capital of Culture.

The Festival’s new Artistic  Director Martyne Green said “I’m thrilled to be stepping up to the helm of this year’s Vodafone Comedy Carnival in Galway. It has been one of my favourite festivals for many a year and I’m proud to be playing a part in bringing what, I think, is a wonderful line-up from all spectrums of comedy, to visitors and locals alike. Galway is such a vibrant city all year round but there really is something special about that last week in October – you can feel the funny in the air. With performers joining us from all over the world, I can’t wait to immerse myself in the mayhem, madness and mirth… see you there.”

Gerry Nixon, Sponsorship Manager, Vodafone Ireland said: The Vodafone Comedy Carnival has been such a success over the past number of years and we are delighted to be involved once again as part of the Vodafone Centre Stage comedy and entertainment programme. The Comedy Carnival is a highlight of the country’s entertainment calendar and really reflects what Centre Stage is all about, connecting people to things that matter most – friends, fun and laughter. This year will see top class performances from both Irish and international talent and this, teamed with the brilliant atmosphere in Galway city, makes the Vodafone Comedy Carnival is the must-attend event of the Autumn.

Tickets go on sale Tuesday 28th August at 10am through www.vodafonecomedycarnival.com and via OMG, Shop Street, Galway 091 509 960.

Black Box and Town Hall tickets also from Town Hall Theatre Box Office – 091 569 777 or www.tht.ie

Info on things to do and see in Galway City & surrounds available on our website or from www.wildatlanticway.com

Dylan Moran, Sean Lock, Reginald D Hunter, Jason Byrne, Rich Hall,  Milton Jones, Gina Yashere, Joel Dommett, Rhys Darby, Al Murray (The Pub Landlord), Enya Martin (Giz A Laugh), Dermot & Dave, Andrew Maxwell, Terry Alderton, The Cuban Brothers, Kerry Godliman, Owen Colgan, Simon Day (The Fast Show), Phill Jupitus, Lost Voice Guy, Phil Nichol, Zoe Lyons, Angela Barnes, Barry Murphy, Tanya Lee Davis, Glenn Wool, Danny O’Brien, Simon Evans, Stephen K Amos, PapaCJ, The Nualas, Paul Currie, Tom Rhodes, Joe Rooney, Pat McDonnell, Kevin McGahern, Oh My God! It’s The Church, George Egg, Totally Wired, Damo Clark,  Lisa Casey, Edwin Sammon, Barry Castagnola, Andy Askins, Abigoliah Schamaun, Rosie Jones, Chris MacArthur Boyd, Keith Fox, Marlon Davis, Paul Myrehaug, Anna Clifford, Steve Bennett, Catherine Bohart, Aindrias De Staic, Shane Todd, Andrew Ryan, Colum McDonnell, Martin Beanz Ward, Micky Bartlett, Johnny Candon, Tom O’Mahony, Sean Hegarty, Jim Elliott, Adam Burke, Breda Larkin and many more

Late Night KARLnival with Karl Spain, Wild Atlantic Wahey Mystery Tour, Comedy Club Crawl, Open Top Bus Tour, The Dirty Circus, Stephen Frost Improv AllStars,

The Office Quiz with Ewen MacIntosh, Ireland’s Smallest Comedy Club, Eyre Square Comedy Village including the World Famous Magic Mirrors Spiegeltent and all the usual shenanigans



Check Also

Deirdre O’Kane and Jason Byrne are Grand Marshals for this year’s Paddy’s Day Parade

Comedians Deirdre O’Kane and Jason Byrne have been chosen as this year’s Grand Marshals for …